Contact Us    |      Join    |

"The Voice of Oncology in Massachusetts"

Arthur T. Skarin Award

Established in 2011, the Oncologist of the Year Award recognizes the achievements of an individual who, throughout the span of their career, has made significant contributions that have had a transforming and lasting impact in areas of clinical oncology, patient advocacy activities, and patient care or outstanding, long-term service to MSCO. 

Starting in 2022, the award name changed to honor the memory of Dr. Arthur T. Skarin, former MSCO president, who was dedicated and devoted to the education and enrichment of the oncology profession as well as advocating for patients, patient care, and treatment accessibility within the state. 

The award presented annually during the MSCO Annual Meeting, and the recipient is highlighted in the MSCO newsletter, website, and in other meeting publications. The recipient is invited to deliver an acceptance speech during the Annual Meeting.

2023 Arthur T. Skarin Award Recipient

Robert J. Mayer, MD

Stephen B. Kay Family Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School; Faculty Vice President for Academic Affairs at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Past Award Recipients

  • Steven E. Come, MD (2022)
  • Eric T. Wong, MD, MA, FANA, FAAN (2021)
  • Jeffrey Wisch, MD  (2020)
  • Therese Marie Mulvey, MD, FASCO  (2019)
  • Lowell E. Schnipper, MD  (2018)
  • Anthony Zietman, MD, FASTRO  (2017)
  • Paul J. Hesketh, MD, FASCO  (2016)
  • Walt A. Kagan, MD  (2015)
  • Mark Huberman, MD  (2014)
  • Michael Goldstein, MD  (2013)
  • Leo Stolbach, MD  (2012)
  • Arthur T. Skarin, MD (2011)

Submit a Nomination

MSCO members are encouraged to submit their nominations via written nomination letter to be presented to the Awards Committee.


To be eligible for this award, candidates must:
  • Be a professional physician practicing in Massachusetts
  • Be an individual who is known for their major contributions to the field of oncology and/or to MSCO during their professional career
  • Submit a letter of nomination detailing information that will document the individual’s outstanding contributions

Award nominations are accepted on a continuing basis throughout the year. Nominations received after August 31st of each year will not be considered for that year's award; they will be rolled over for consideration the following year.

Click link below to submit your nomination or email

Submit Nomination


860 Winter Street, Waltham, MA, 02451


tel: 781.434.7329

Massachusetts Society of Clinical Oncologists ©2024

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software